5 Ways Your Day Job Is Fueling Your Dream Job

Ken Reid
4 min readApr 21, 2021
Photo by Bimo Luki on Unsplash

I have a love-hate relationship with my day job. In all honesty, I’m pretty lucky. I’m a writer who gets to write all day for work. Now, the kind of writing I prefer to do isn’t exactly talking about HVAC manufacturers and oil rigs, so it’s not perfect. But it could be much worse.

But even my last job, an administrative position, was a gift. I saw that one, and sometimes this one, as an adversary to my dream job. But that really isn’t true.

No matter how unrelated your day job might seem to your dream job, it also fuels what you love. You should appreciate your day job, even if you don’t like it.

Here are 5 ways your day job is actually fueling your dream job.

1. It helps you meet and be around real people, not superheroes.

I fantasize about chilling backstage with other well-known speakers and authors before it’s my turn to go on stage and wow the audience. Maybe someday that will happen. That’d be amazing. But until it does, my day job gives me a fantastic opportunity.

Every day, I get to interact with real people. Not famous authors, well-known musicians, or incredible artists. Just real people. The kind of people I write for. I have no intention of…

--

--

Ken Reid

Marketing Director & Storyteller | I’m not a dreamer, my brain just vacations in the future.